Sophie in Africa

Safari

Kategori: Tanzania

I am writing this blogpost after one of the most amazing weekends ever. It was so much fun and I loved every second of it. I loved to see white people again and to talk to them in a western way (africans think completely different, it is nor the same thing). I loved to see all the animals in the national parks and to have this safari experience that is completely uniqe. I had a really good guide, he knew all the names of every little bird and knew a lot of facts about the mammals. We also had a great cook, I ate so much food. I was getting pretty tired of the food at my host family so it felt very nice to taste something different again. I also liked to go camping again, even though it rained the first night and my things got wet.
 
So, what did I see? Most of the big mammals like elephants, lions, hippos, guiraffs, zebras, buffalos... and also many birds, both small and big like flamingos, and many monkeys. To mention some. I saw more animals, but I think you understand. To see them in their natural habitat was amazing, sometimes they were far away and sometimes close. Since these are wild animals you never know where they are, so you drive around and hope you will see something different. Of course the guides know where to look, but you cannot be sure. Still, it did not feel so much like Africa. I think because there were tourists everywhere and not so many africans.
 
There is one thing though that makes me sad. In some of the national parks, the guide told us, there is a big problem with poachers. I realy did not think that, not in these very big and touristy parks. I asked if tourism helps to stop it, but he said not so much because there is a lot of corruption so it is very hard to stop. I feel sad that there are so many tourists looking at the animals (there was car by car by car... busy time of the year now) but that no one is stopping the poaching. Why not charge a little more and help the rangers? Or anything else to protect the animals.
 
This felt like a really good way to end the year. Soon 2012 will be over, and I can only wish you a happy new year. May you have a very good time and enjoy it.
 
And yes, I have to tell you about a little change I made. I am coming home two weeks earlier than originally planned. It just suits me better. Otherwise everything is the same.
 
See you in 2013!

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: