Sophie in Africa

Bye, bye friend

Kategori: Tanzania

Yesterday, Susanne left Tanzania for new adventures. The time has been amazing, wonderful and very helpful for me. I enjoyed to have someone to talk to, to discuss with and to make memories together. Even though she only was here for two and a half weeks, the time has felt very long for me and I am happy I get a visitor at all! I think she also enjoyed it. She helped me with some new ideas for the school and what to do with the kids, because sometimes it is not so easy to know. She mostly taught the big ones, three girls who absolutely adored her. I have a small story I have to tell you: one day we played inside the school with some of the girls. We gave them each a sof toy to play with and they put it on their backs and put their sweaters around (that's how the women here carry their babies, on their backs). Then, after a while, they forgot about them and then Susanne pretended that the "baby" od one of the girls started to cry. And what did she so? Yes of course, she started to brest feed it! It gave me agood laugh.
 
When Susanne left I also came into goodbye-mood even though of course it is not time for me to leave yet. But ir made me realize how used I have become to the life here. The houses, the nature, the people, the shops, the market, the rythm of life... it doesn't seem so strange to me anymore. Which was what I wanted! It takes a while to get used to, but I think I'm there now.
 
The remedio classes we usually have in the afternoons with the older students have started now, so I think from next week on I will be on full schedule again. Feels a little strange not to have free afternoons anymore, but it is a part of my work. This year there are new students coming, not the same as last term, so I have to get to know them from the beginning and build a relasionship to them. It takes a while until they really trust you and dare to talk.Bacause, the level can seem very high when you see what they do, but if you ask them the most basic things they don't know. The African school systen is still behind the European one.

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: