Sophie in Africa

School

Kategori: Tanzania

I realized I have not written before about what my work in school really is. I think because it has become my everyday life so I just forget that you have no idea about it. I will compansate that now. So, as I have told you we have three different levels. In Tanzania, kids at this young age really go to school, it is not comparable to kindergarden. For Baby class, we teach them how to read and write. Letters a,b,c and numers 1,2,3 aso. And how? They all have theuir own excercise book and we write the number/letter at the top and they have to copy. We also teach them oraly, to say the Aplhabet and to differentiate the numbers. For Middle class the level is a little higher. They have some simple counting, which we teach them for example by drawing some symbols on the blackboard and let them count and write the number efterwards. They also learn parts of the body and begin with the diference between Capital and small letters. Then, for Top class, they are pretty good. They get all the excercises from Middle class but more advanced. They also have "personality development" and other subjetcs which are hard to explain.
 
This is what I have been doing with them until now. And of course playing with them outside. Next week the school stops, before holiday, but I don't know which day exactly. I have asked but everyone says something different. Typical Africa, live today and don't think about tomorrow. Oh, how weird it will be to say goodbye to the kids!
 
Oh, and one more thing. I booked a trip to Zanzibar! April 1st - 6th, feels pretty good. The first time in my life I do a real beach holiday... a little scary though, to go by myslef, but I know more about Tanzania now so it feels okay. In the beginning I wouldn't have dared. A little sad though that I will be there in the middle of the big rain season, which is coming now, but what to do about it. I will enjoy it anyway.

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: