Sophie in Africa

A trip to paradise

Kategori: Tanzania

I am writing again after probably having seen one of the most beautiful islands on earth, Zanzibar. My trip was way too short, I think I could have stayed forever ( well, almost). The beaches were amazing; crystal clear water, white sand and lots of palm trees. The people were friendly and generally good at English (finally!) and Stone Town was so beautiful with its old houses. It is interesting though, because it was really diferent from mainland Tanzania. The people looked different (Indian and arabic influence), talked a little different, mostly used another religion (the cost is mostly muslim, but there are many muslims in mainlad too and some christians in the coastal regions) and the whole culture was another. You really see that is before was Tanganyika and Zanzibar and pretty recently (I think 1964) became Tanzania.
 
I had good luck with the weather, despite low season it rained just very littely. I did some tourist activities, they are expensive but mostly worth the prize. On my second day I went on a dolphin safari. I was lucky, there were only two other tourist boats out and we saw many dolphins, probably 20. You have to be quick if you want to swim with them, because they move fast, but that was one of my best experiences. To see them in the water, under me... amazing. We also did some snorkelling then, that was really nice. After that we went shortly to a forest to see Red colobus monkey. They only exist on Zanzibar. They were absolutely not shy, going between the legs of the people and so on. After Have been in Stone Town I went to the east coast. On my way there it was pretty funny, I think every 50 meters there was a new sign of a resort. There are really millions of Hotels, mostly expensive ones. My Hostel, where I stayed, was surrounded by at least four expensive resorts. I mean, I had the same beach, and stayed at the same place about, but just a lot cheaper. My Hostel was run by four rasta-Jamaican style guys, they were a little weird but nice. They took everything slowly, just enjoying life. The bay was really quiet, almost no locals, just a deserted beach. I think I needed the calmness, it was good for me after this volontary work. The beach was so nice, perfect for relaxing. I also saw some Mangrove trees. In the evening you could see amazing sunsets or enjoy the evening at a camp fire. I think I fell in love a little with the island, even though there are negatives also. For example on Zanzibar you have to really careful with what price you get, because they like to add if you are white. And local life is cheap, but being a tourist costs.
 
On Sunday I was back in Namanga to say goodbye to everyone. Most were really sad, but wished me a pleasant journey.I will miss some people more than others, which is perfectly natural. The hard thing is that I have no Idea when I can be back. Most of them don't have e-mail, so it is hard to contact them. But of course I will remember them. Now I am in Moshi where I will be until the end. I have some activities planned which I will write more about another time. I want to make the most out of my last week in Africa!

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: