Sophie in Africa

My new home

Kategori: Tanzania

I think it is time I tell a little more about where I live now.
 
The house and the family: I live in a host family, and my host is Emmanuel who started the school. The other members of his family are his wife Mary, and the kids Meshak (9) and Noella (7). The house looks not like an ordinary house, it is four lenghts of houses that go together in a rectangle with a space in between. There are many people living here, I think six different familys. Around this small open space there are many doors, and behind the doors the people live. I have not yet figured out who belongs to which family and who sleeps where. For example, there are two women here who cook the food, so it is not my host mother that is cooking. There are also more kids living here. The most important thing though is that they are all very nice and greet me and each other. They all seem very happy to have me here.
 
My room: I have a room of my own and a key so I acn lock it. Inside I have two wooden armchairs wth cushions, two stools, a table and a bed. There is no electricity here, but I have a small solar panel with a bulb and a battery to give me light in the evening. Otherwise there is no electicity, also the food is prepared without it. It is actually okay, it doesn't bother me. I am here to discover Tanzanian life, which I am doing every day!
 

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: