Sophie in Africa

I am dreaming of a white Christmas

Kategori: Tanzania

So much to write about - where to start?
 
Let's begin with last friday, the 14th. (Over a week ago, I know). That was Noella's, my host sister's, birthday. She turned seven. The funny thing was, I didn't even know it until lunch. That gave me a little chock, maybe because I'm used to birthdays being almost holy in the western world. In Africa, many people don't even know exactly when they are born. And they can definitely not afford to have any party. In the evenig though we did a small celebration. We sang happy birtday about a hundred times and her parents also had bought a little cake (no gifts). Everyone got a small piece of it and Noella enjoyed the attention. She is very sweet but a little drama queen.
 
Then on sunday, the 16th, there was a very speciel day. Confirmation day! Since christianity is big here (not really as big as in Rwanda luckily, but still) confirmation is a big deal. All girls dress in white princess-clothes and the boys wear suits. The service was four (!) hours long. Normally it is two, which also is not short, but four was really just too much. Yes, I enjoyed the singing and dancing, but still. Anyway, after that it was time to go to the private celebrations. We had five on our program but only managed to go to three of them. I felt like I was back in Rwanda, where we visited so many places and got a mountain of food everywhere. This community-feeling is something I miss in Europe. The whole community helps each other and everyone is welcome. The word for "visitor" is in east Africa actually the same word as for "guest". They also greet each other saying father, mother, sister, grandmother... I actually like it when someone says "how are you sister" to me instead of just going by.
 
On wednesday I was in Arusha again doing some Christmas shopping. Emmanuel went with me again, he also had some buisness to do there. It was nice to be back, but it is not my favourite city. Big and crowded and always on the run. This was my second time there and I feel like I understand it more now. Next time I will go by myself.
 
Yesterday we closed down the school, now I have two weeks of completely free time before next term start. I will try to keep my time busy. Next week is the safari, I am so excited now.
 
Oh, and last time I forgot to tell you something about my room. I am not completely alone, I have some small frians - ants! Yes, I have an ants nest in my room. But it sounds worse than it feels, they don't disturb me so much. I am getting used to my little roommates. In all, there are a lot more insects here. Once I discovered ants in the pot of sugar, and in Rwanda I had a cockrach in my bed. Just to accept it.

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: