Sophie in Africa

Being sick in Africa, last day of school and first time in Arusha

Kategori: Tanzania

Today I've been away for a month, but it feels more like three. Ah, I'm beginning to realize now what a long time six months really is..!
 
Last week I was sick for a couple of days. Nothing serious, just like you can get sick at home as well. It was just very annoying since I don't get sick very often. Why here? I hope it doesn't happen again! Being sick really stopped my appetite which concerned my host family a lot. They eat so much here, and especially they want their guests to eat. Normally you get a big plate of the main dish, a small plate with some vegetables, maybe another small plate with something, a plate of fruit, tea and water. Gah. I really believe I'm gonna gain some weight here.
 
On November 30 was the last day of school here in Tanzania. Short introduction to the school system:
1:st term early January - end of March
April holiday
2:nd term early May - end July
August holiday
3:rd term early September - end November
December holiday
So right now it is holiday, but we are still busy, some youth (from other schools) come in their holiday because they want to continue their studies.
 
Last day of term was not an ordinary school day. Some of the parents and some community people came for a meeting with the teachers and the kids played and got porridge to eat (made of maize of course, they eat maize all the time here). The was also a little incident with a turtoise. Some of the kids found a turtoise (here! I had no idea they could live in these conditions). They treated it really badly, like poked it and lifted it up all the time. It upset me a lot, and I think that amused them so they just kept going. In the end, when they weren't looking, I hid that poor animal. Kids can be really cruel sometimes.
 
On monday I got really excited because it was time for my first trip to Arusha. I was very happy that Emmanuel (my host and head of the centre) went with me, because I really didn't want to go alone the first time. We left early in the morning and the bus trip took about 1,5 hours. The nature chamged on the way, Namanga is pretty dry and dusty and Arusha is much greener with banana trees and some palm trees as well. Arusha is a really busy city..! There are people everywhere, cars and animals and it is very dirty. We walked around and he showed me some of the most inportant buildings, shops and the city-centre. We also went in to the main market, and I can tell you, it is not something for quesy stomachs. That smell! A very mixed smell of dried fish, vegetebles, fruits, meat... you get it. Wasn't very pleasant. I also bought a map (very useful! though very touristy), and after a while we parted and I went round alone. That was fine, I just didn't want to be alone in the early stage. I was mainly in the city-centre looking at shops and gathering information. There are really many tourists in Arusha, and maybe because of that some of the africans get really annoying. They want you to go with their taxi, come into their shop or giude you the way.. Especielly if you go alone you feel a little vulnrebale. If they came to close I just went into a shop and they left. It also helped to be in a hurry all the time, because them they had no opportunity to stop you. You learn the tricks quickly!
 
I also did something I hadn't thought I would do this early, but what I am very excited about. I booked a Safari! Yes! You can't leave Tanzania without have been on a Safari. I wanted to look at some alternatives, but I actually booked one. Three days, three national parks (Tarangire, Lake Manyara and Ngorongoro)  and living on a campsite. You never now if the organizer is good, but they seemed legit and I think they are okay. But best of all, since I am alone here I really didn't want to go on a Safari alone. But this is a "shared-safari" which feels very nice. The others that have booked it already are Germans... why am I not surprised. This will cost me 450 USD, which of course is not cheap but no Safaris are cheap here and I really belive I got something good for that price. December 28-30, I can't wait!
 
The bus trip back to Namanga was pretty funny. I sat squeezed in a mini-bus with 25 other people for the long journey back. It was not very comfortable, and definitely not safe, but, it is all added to my african experience! On the whole, this day made me realize that I am happy to live in Namanga rather than in a big town. It is much safer. For example, I would for general safety reasons not go outside alone in the dark, but in namanga I can do it and don't feel unsafe. In Arusha I would definitely not do it. Namanga has everything I need, so Arusha is just a bonus. I can't go every week though because it is pretty expensive, but every now and then it is nice to see something else.

Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här: